News Release

CCA Expert Panel to Examine Evidence-Based Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Practices for Impactful Change in the Post-Secondary Research Ecosystem

Despite efforts to advance equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) by postsecondary research institutions across Canada, individuals from groups that have been marginalized continue to be underrepresented. At the request of several government departments and agencies*, the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) has formed an expert panel to assess best practices for EDI in the research ecosystem. Wendy Rodgers, PhD, Vice-President (Academic) and Provost of the University of Northern British Columbia, will serve as Chair of the expert panel. 

“Persistent inequity in academia not only hinders individuals but can also stifle innovation and progress on important research priorities,” said Dr. Rodgers. “Diverse perspectives and contributions have the potential to enhance research systems and academia and I look forward to working with my colleagues to explore this issue in depth.”

As Chair, Dr. Rodgers will lead a multidisciplinary group with expertise in EDI research and practice, law, and post-secondary administration. The Panel will answer the following question:

What is the state of knowledge regarding measures that organizations in Canada and around the world are implementing to achieve equity, diversity, and inclusion in the post-secondary research system?

“We are delighted that Dr. Rodgers has agreed to chair this expert panel,” said Eric M. Meslin, PhD, FRSC, FCAHS, President and CEO of the CCA. “I’m confident that the panel’s work to develop a fuller understanding of effective EDI policies and practices will provide research institutions and other organizations with the information essential to address these challenges.”

More information can be found here.
The Expert Panel on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Practices in the Post-secondary Research System:

  • Wendy Rodgers (Chair), PhD, Vice-President Academic and Provost, University of Northern British Columbia
  • Helen Brown, PhD, RN, Associate Professor, School of Nursing, University of British Columbia
  • Angela Campbell, LLM, Professor and Associate Provost (Equity and Academic Policies), McGill University
  • Michael Czubryt, PhD, Professor, Department of Physiology and Pathophysiology, Max Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba; Executive Director of Research, St. Boniface Hospital
  • Juliet Daniel, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology and Associate Dean Research and External Relations, Faculty of Science, McMaster University
  • Annemieke Farenhorst, PhD, Associate Vice-President Research, University of Manitoba, and Professor, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, University of Manitoba
  • Richard Isnor, PhD, Associate Vice President, Research and Graduate Studies, St. Francis Xavier University
  • Catherine Mavriplis, PhD, FCAE, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ottawa
  • Sushmita Pamidi, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Respiratory Medicine, McGill University, Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre
  • Miwa Aoki Takeuchi, PhD, Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary
  • Merlinda Weinberg, PhD, Adjunct Professor, School of Social Work, Dalhousie University

*Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council; Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada; Canadian Institutes of Health Research; Canada Foundation for Innovation; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada; National Research Council Canada; and Health Canada.